top of page

JCLC JROTC Cadet Leadership Camp

2018 JROTC Cadet Leadership Camp (JCLC)

JCLC OBJECTIVES: a. To enable cadets to practice leadership in an unfamiliar environment. b. To enable all cadets to participate in citizenship-building exercise. c. To give cadets the opportunity to experience living and interacting with their peers in a military setting. d. To enable JROTC cadre to instruct military skills in a "hands on" military environment. e. Allow for participation in adventure training not available on campus. f. To HAVE FUN!

 

OSBORNE HIGH SCHOOL JCLC 2018 CADET REFLECTIONS

Kevin Morales

The experience I got when I was at JCLC will help me with my leadership position next year by adapting to different situations and not giving up half way instead I’m going to find different ways to accomplish my goal/goals not only by myself but also by working with a team as a team. I will have many obstacles in my way. As in certain people because not everybody is going to act like me and everybody learns differently some people were born leaders some other people you have to make them leaders and I’m ready help and motivate both out. And I learned this all out at JCLC some people didn’t know anything so I had to help them out. When we would work as a group I would ask for suggestions to accomplish our mission during the obstacle course I wasn’t nervous to talk to random and unknown people I just went with the flow and now the people that I had some of them became really close friends with me. And I hope next year I can use my leadership experience I got at JCLC with The Cardinal Battalion.

Deysi Calderon

My reflection on JCLC was amazing. It showed me to get out my comfort zone and that everything will be okay. They pushed me more mentally then physically even though there was moments where I did push my body and woke up sore. It showed me that sometimes you need a team to get things done, sometimes yourself is not enough and the only way you can get more help is when you have other cadets get out there comfort zone. It also showed me that fear is just in my head, that if I’m shy to go upon many cadets that it’s all in my head. I had to push myself these 4 days. At 6am I should already be awake and should sound off to the fullest, and let’s not forget that if you’re on time you’re late. I’m glad you let me experience this, it taught me more then this. In many ways. Everything is on the mind but sometimes you have to over control the mind.

Angel Langarica

My experience was great I made a lot of friends because my platoon loved my laugh. Which made me make friends there. People from other schools did way different things that we did in our school so I learned a lot from that. It helped me learn that you have to face your fears to do something, you can't always stay quiet you gotta take charge if no one is taking charge. One instructor also told me something good that once the new let 1 comes next semester that you gotta set the example, because if you don't they are not gonna know what to do!!

Lorena Vargas

JCLC overall was a great experience. I learned many things like leadership, communication, and teamwork. One of the most important lesson I was taught at JCLC was to trust myself, you have to believe in yourself before other believe in you. You need to have confidence in your knowledge and trust what you know. Nevertheless, I learned that there is always room for improvement always listen to what the other have to say because at the end of the day this advice will make you a better person and leader. To be a good leader you have to be a good follower to. You need to find that balance between taking charge and following orders. I think the activities we did this year helped me enforce this idea for example, LRC or Leadership Reaction Course was an activity that really enforce the idea of teamwork and communication. This course made my squad get closer together because we had to work together to find a solution to the problem, we had to listen to the other and then decide the best course of action however, there were times when our plan didn’t work out so well and we weren’t able to find the scenario on the given time but our squad didn’t blame anyone and we just focused on the next task at hand. We didn't dwell on the past and we got to work on the present. At the end we had to do the Obstacle Course, the whole squad was tired but we came up with the strategy to not leave anyone behind and to get moving as a team, we encourage each other to keep moving forward and at the end we were happy with our time and the things we accomplished that day. The point of JCLC is to become a better leader and bring all the things you learned to your battalion, make the JROTC program at your school better, is not just about the experience is about what you learned and how you are going to implement it in your school. One of the main issues that we had at JCLC was that different school do different things but at the end of the day we learned how to do things different and how we can combine things from other school to make the battalion better. One of the things an instructor told and that I will never forget is that a good leader takes most of the blame but when something goes well he/she shines the light to the other cadets. As the Battalion Xo, I’m responsible for staff I have to delegate my power to the staff so things can get done, I have to check how things are going for them and how I can help them get on track if they need any help. I learned to delegate my power so tasks can get done faster and more efficient.

Mayerli Pineda

This opportunity and experience on going to JCLC was outstanding. It showed me a lot of leadership skills, teamwork and how to face my fears and take challenges. During JCLC I was part of Delta company. The instructors were outstanding and they taught me a lot on leadership and teamwork. When I had my leadership position as platoon leader they let me know what they expected from me as platoon leader. As platoon leader I would help the platoon Sargent was doing there job correctly and help them if they didn’t know what to do. During JCLC I came out my comfort zone and made new friends and wasn’t shy at all. I also faced my fears of heights and did the repel tower and the high ropes. At first I was scared to do the repel tower but after I saw everybody doing it I was less scared. At the high ropes I was not scared at all and got all the way to the top. Canoeing was my favorite part of JCLC. Just paddling in the boat was so calm and it was fun. The instructors at the lake also taught me how to swim and they made me jump off the dock twice because after the first time they made me prove to them that I wasn’t scared anymore to jump off the dock to the deep end. The last thing my company did was the LRC and the obstacle course. The LRC was the main thing that taught me more on how to work as a team with my squad to do the mission that we were given. My squad completed 5 at of 6 of the obstacles. The obstacle course was very fun. My squad and I motivated each other and made it to the end. My squad got one of the fastest time of 8:45 with only one penalty. I can use the things and skills that I gained from JCLC help me in a leadership position next year. I can become better leader with these skills and share my experience with other cadets and share my knowledge of leadership and teamwork with other cadets. I will also be a disciplined and responsible cadet and show them on how being a leader helps them do a lot outstanding things. I’m truly thankful that you chose me to go to JCLC Sir. It was and an outstanding experience and an outstanding opportunity. Once again sir thank you for choosing me to go to JCLC.

Paula Garcia

On the first day of JCLC I wanted to go back home, I had regretted going. But at the end of the first day I started to meet new people and I ended up saying it isn’t bad. The second day was good but I realized I was scared of hights when my company was going to repel. I didn’t want to go down but then the instructor said what school are you from and I said Osborne. So changed my mind and said never mind I am going to repel because I didn’t want to be the only one from Osborne that didn’t repel plus I can’t disappoint you sir. The third day was hard for me, the obstacle course looked hard but I pushed myself to do it all. And the last day I didn’t want to leave I wanted to stay. The camp helped me realize a lot of things like with teamwork anything can be done and I learned the leadership isn’t just a position it’s a lot of responsibility.

Gabby Solorio

My experience at JCLC was basically a once in a life time thing to understand, it helped me understand and see how others take charge and how to deal with a company, even if you’re not the one in charge.

Geraldine Garcia

Jclc was a great experience because it showed me team work and participation in all cadets not only was it helpful but it also helped me make a lot of new friends from different schools. Jclc taught me to not be afraid of your biggest fears to and open yourself up to new challenges and opportunities to upcoming life situations and once I get my leadership position it will help me become more social with all different kinds of students and faculty.

Anembom Achibuem

I had a really fun time I got out of my comfort zone with talking to new people. When I finally got a position I had a responsibility and I think that will help me if I get a position this coming year.

Judith Estrada

JCLC made me realize that I have to step up and take charge when someone isn’t doing their job. I saw many people in leadership positions where they didn’t pay attention to the previous leaders mistakes. I have to learn from the previous leaders and make sure I don’t do the same mistakes as they did.

Mario Garcia

In JCLC, it was a fun experience and being with other people that I met felt like if I was at school. I was in Bravo Company, we won best company, and I was the third platoon sergeant for first platoon but it helped me to get the fear of being shy and talking to other people. This will help me for a leadership position because I wouldn’t be scared of talking to the battalion or a company.

Angel Lazaro

Well I didn’t know what to expect the first, but I got put as company commander the first day. I had some background knowledge about what CO should do. JCLC gave me more tips and confidence when taking charge of a company. I learned that I should set the example by giving a command and being clear on how the company should work to completing the task at hand.

Karen Rueda

During my JCLC experience, I got the opportunity of being a platoon leader . The whole week taught me how to think smarter, not harder . Everyone morning we had to be up at least at 5am to be able to have enough time to complete our morning routine & be outside formed up for PT, BEFORE the time given to be formed up . We did a whole lot of leadership activities that involved things like teamwork & common sense. My whole experience helped me by developing my social skills & making me more confident with my work or what I’m trying to get done. My motto is now “ Teamwork makes the dream work “ I heard that 1000 times at camp .

Javanyea Moore

My experience was very helpful. There were many different cadets who lead very differently. It was helpful seeing how other cadets lead because I could see what works and what doesn't. I saw what I liked and what I didn't like. Most of all it helped me realize how important it is to listen to subordinates and that their suggestions help. Another thing I learned is to be a good leader, you need to know how to follow as well. There are gonna be times where you're not in charge and to help who ever is in charge, you need to listen. Those are some of the things I took away from this year's JROTC Cadet Leadership Challenge.

Vanessa Garcia

My experience at JCLC was one of a kind i met new people i got out of my comfort zone for sure and i learned alot of new things. All the mistake made at camp were to learn from them and then apply them but just better back at school. This experience will definitely help me next year

Michelle Uriostegui

My JCLC experience helped me understand that I need to not be afraid to take charge in any situation. The only position that was given to me was squad leader but my platoon leader and platoon sergeant would always ask me "what do I do next?". Also, I made a lot of new friends from many different schools surprisingly . I was a very conserved person until JCLC and I knew that about myself. Getting the opportunity to talk to different people and hear their perspectives on certain things helped me open myself up and be more confident with everything I have to say.

 

2017 JROTC Cadet Leadership Camp (JCLC) Fort Benning and Columbus State University, 5 - 9 June 2017

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL OF OUR JCLC GRADUATES. RACHEL DIAZ EARNED THE BEST IN COMPANY AWARD AND JANELY HUERTA EARNED THE BEST IN PLATOON AWARD. I AM SO PROUD OF YOU ALL. I WAS GETTING MANY COMPLEMENTS ON THE MANY OUTSTANDING CADETS FROM OSBORNE. I HOPE YOU LEARNED SOMETHING AND IS NOW READY TO TAKE CHARGE. HOOAH!

Chery, Schubert O.

Cunningham, Ameerah

Diaz, Rachel

Zavala, Ashley

Hong, Kevin

Huerta, Janely

Legorreta-Ortiz, Aalysha

Meza, Eloy J.

Orellana, Rafael A.

Ortiz, Jennifer

Rubio, Cesar A.

Sontay, Ivan

Vargas, Lorena

Velasquez, Brandy A.

Ponce, Kally M (ALT)

Murr-Sales, Jocelyn L.

2017

 

2016 JCLC ROSTER

Abarca, Arturo

Adan, Jennifer

Alexander, Elyssa

Balderas, Angela

Chery, Schubert

Diaz, Abigail

Garcia, Adrian

Gaskins, Juanya

Gonzalez, Gabriela

Henry, Kaleb

Langarica, Julio

Legorreta-Ortiz, Aalysha

Perez, Jessica

Powell, Allen

Reyes-Perez, Francia

Rodriguez, Gabriela

Santiago, Christian

Soto, Rocio

Vargas, Maria

Zapata, Ivan

OSBORNE HIGH SCHOOL JCLC 2016 CADET REFLECTIONS

Elyssa Alexander. to JCLC 2016 - OHS CADET LEADERSHIP CAMP

Reflection: Before actually going to JCLC, I thought it would have been more running. The practices kept me in good enough shape to not get out of breath or be too tired when we did run in JCLC. But the experience was unforgettable. From the activities to my roommates and even to the instructor More... Reflection: Before actually going to JCLC, I thought it would have been more running. The practices kept me in good enough shape to not get out of breath or be too tired when we did run in JCLC. But the experience was unforgettable. From the activities to my roommates and even to the instructors. Every single moment will stay with me for the rest of my life. Charlie Company had pulled through to be number 1 at one point during the week. But we had lost a few competitions that made us drop in the leader board. But I'm proud to say I was in Charlie Company during the week. The instructors pushed each and every one of us to our greatest, even if it meant getting over our fears. The activities that were going on during the week were unforgettable. The coolest thing was the Rappel Tower, even though I was on the brink of falling, it was life changing. I know now to just do it and to stop over thinking. The Army person helping do the tower yelled at me, which if he didn't, I would have fallen. I would certainly go back next year and the year after that if it was possible. JCLC is unlike any other camp I have ever been to. It creates a bond with not only the cadets, but with the instructors. I would love to go back next year Chief. :) Less...

 

Juanya Gaskin. to OSBORNE JROTC

JCLC was such an amazing experience for me. Yet it leaves me with a long lasting regret that I didn't take advantage of this outstanding opportunity as a Freshman or sophomore. I would say that at Osborne I am fairly comfortable with being a leader and taking charge when I need to. But at camp we we More... JCLC was such an amazing experience for me. Yet it leaves me with a long lasting regret that I didn't take advantage of this outstanding opportunity as a freshman or sophomore. I would say that at Osborne I am fairly comfortable with being a leader and taking charge when I need to. But at camp we were place in a very unfamiliar environment where I barely knew anyone and told to take charge and as a leader that somewhat challenged me because in my mind I would worry what my peers would say about me behind my back, "He's too bossy, We don't like him, He is abusing the power he has been temporarily given". None of those things I would want to be said about me but when I took the initiative to correctly do my job and motivate and show others how to do their jobs in a respectful way as a more advanced cadet, people began to gravitate to me and respect me as a leader inside the formation and they began to be friends with me outside of the formation. Not to toot my own horn, with no arrogance in this, I believe that because of the leadership skills I've gained at Osborne, I set the bar for other leaders at the camp and I'm very grateful to Chief, Sgt Trice, and 1sgt for giving me the chance to gain those skills through trusting me with leadership positions within my company at school. Sgt Trice, Sgt Legrant, and 1sgt Jett helped us with being better leaders, better cadets, but most of all how to be a family while respecting each other in our respective leadership positions. Thank you to my primary instructors for giving me the chance to partake in this amazing experience, and thank you to my fellow cardinal cadets for helping make my one and only chance at this amazing experience such a memorable one.

As I went into JCLC I felt certain that I had all the skills that I needed to be the best leader possible and be the most effective leader possible but since coming back, I now know what it means to be motivated. I now know what it means to be the best company. Though our company didn't win in overall points. We we're a family, we were so motivated and dedicated in our search that we even celebrated when we loss. To me that's what it means to be the best, to know that whatever we do, just try your all and whatever the outcome is just be happy with knowing that you tried and gave it your all and I'm ready to bring the knowledge that I have from JCLC back to Osborne and apply it and with the right opportunity and chance I'll be the best I can and help motivate this program. I'm ready to take initiative and responsibility. I will assure that I won't let you down but most of all I won't let down my fellow cadets. Thank you sir.

 

Michel Gonzalez. to JCLC 2016 - OHS CADET LEADERSHIP CAMP

Reflection: JCLC was an adventure I was yet all the way ready for. I had barely enough physical readiness and my knowledge of what was yet to come was very limited BUT regardless of my laimitations, I had the drive, strength and motivation to do every task that was put upon me. What was odd to get a More... Reflection: JCLC was an adventure I was yet all the way ready for. I had barely enough physical readiness and my knowledge of what was yet to come was very limited BUT regardless of my limitations, I had the drive, strength and motivation to do every task that was put upon me. What was odd to get adjusted to the eating and sleeping schedule, I haven't eaten a proper breakfast in a long time so eating breakfast every day was unsettling but nonetheless the food was great. The first day I volunteered to be the Company XO and not knowing what to do I asked for help and I did my job outstandingly (or so my instructors said) but I believe I did the best I ever could. That same first day I lost my voice because I put my heart into being the one to stand out and make a difference. Each day was different and exciting, going to so many places and meeting many people was a thrill for me. Feeling struggle and pain made JCLC a good experience because I know now that when I feel that pain or struggle again I know I'll make it through. I saw how different cadets were taught at other schools and I honestly have to say that Osborne JROTC is the best at teaching their cadets, and all I have learned has gotten me to "Best in Platoon Advanced Leadership", "Star Cadet" and a part of "Best Company of 2016". This experience has been like no other. I have fallen from great heights and gotten back on my feet, bruised my body, strained my brain, lost my voice and did as many pushups a person can withstand at 5:45 am, I know I can do anything I am given. Thank you JROTC instructors for this opportunity.

 

Maria Vargas

Reflection

JCLC for me will be one of my best high school/ JROTC experiences. At the beginning I was scared to be away from home specially I was scared about the roommates. But everything came up good and we made such good memories that I will never forget. The first two days at camp I didn’t like my company because they weren’t motivated enough. They didn’t try enough we were the worst company and it made me mad. But every day I tried to volunteered in something I wanted to inspire others and deep inside me I know I accomplished my goal. I think the best thing that happened to me at camp was being selected to be company commander it wasn’t the position I expected but I thanks God for that because I knew that being CO was a lot of responsibility and I also knew that it would challenge me. Taking charge of Delta was such a great experience something that I can’t explain. I left my all in JCLC I gave it my best and all the hard work and the dedication was paid off when I was chose to go against the board on the basic level and also I’m thankful for receiving the company commander award/ best in company basic level.

 

Angela Balderas. to JCLC 2016 - OHS CADET LEADERSHIP CAMP

Reflection: JCLC was nothing that I expected. I really thought that it was going to be tough for me considering I wasn’t the most physically ready person. I really thought I was going to hard time. But the first day was really hard for me it was the first time I had actually left home like that and More... Reflection: JCLC was nothing that I expected. I really thought that it was going to be tough for me considering I wasn’t the most physically ready person. I really thought I was going to have hard time. But the first day was really hard for me it was the first time I had actually left home like that and that first day was really hard. I had to learn to adapt to something that I wasn’t used to. I pulled through and made some really good friends in Delta Company. That’s an accomplishment that I can say was really good for me. I’m not very social and I find it hard to make friends, but I was able to be social and make friends which is really going to help me in the long run. I also discovered a drive and motivation that I had never seen in myself, every day at camp I got up and always felt ready and motivated for a new day. I enjoyed all the chants and mottos that we screamed. Although I was only able to hold one leadership position as squad leader, I held that position and did everything as if I had gotten one of the higher positions. I want to thank you sir for letting me have this experience because I really enjoyed the training. I know I’m never going to have training like that again ever but I really liked being in groups and working with people who I had never talked to or seen in my life. That gave me a new perspective on what it’s like to be a team and how to really get things done as a team, the leaders reaction course really opened up my eyes and showed me that teamwork isn’t as hard I thought it was. JCLC opened me up to new ways of thinking; it taught me how to be more social and to stop being scared of trying new things and what it really means to be a team and what it really means to know how to work as a team. Thank you sir, JCLC taught me some really good things that I hope that I’ll be able to apply to the cardinal battalion this upcoming year. I would love to get to experience this all over again next year

Abigail Diaz. to JCLC 2016 - OHS CADET LEADERSHIP CAMP

reflection: Before JCLC I had started running with Julio only because I thought that at practice we would run a whole lot. The day that we left I felt so much anxiety and so much nervousness I had no idea of what to expect I was scared because I thought I would get dropped the first day. The greates More... reflection: Before JCLC I had started running with Julio only because I thought that at practice we would run a whole lot. The day that we left I felt so much anxiety and so much nervousness I had no idea of what to expect I was scared because I thought I would get dropped the first day. The greatest thing I felt the first day was being picked for XO I felt so special and honored I wanted to tell chief about my accomplishment. JCLC was the greatest experience I have ever experienced in my entire life it wasn't as scary as everyone said it would be. It was actually very great I love the friends that I made I love you Charlie Company, Charlie Company for life I also love that I got stuck with the most amazing roommate ever they may have kept me up all night maybe slept in the living room all week long but we made it through the whole entire week. I'm surprised that I spoke up for squad exhibition and platoon exhibition. What surprised me the most was when Sergeant Major selected farmer and I to represent Charlie Company and present ourselves in front of the board. Charlie Company may have not won first place for best company but we won something more special than that. Last thing that surprised me the most was when I got awards for best in company advanced level, most improved cadet, and first place for platoon exhibition. I'd love to go back Chief 😀

  • Leggoretta

JCLC was an amazing and outstanding experience for me. I really hope I get to do this again next year! Being the XO in Bravo Company really gave me that chance to go out and show my leadership skills that I have gained from Osborne but JCLC especially helped me on coming out of my shell and getting better leadership skills. JCLC is by far the best experience in my life and hopefully I will be able to return next year to jclc and be able to be a better leader, stand out and show out for Osborne high school. At JCLC I conquered my major fear of heights which was very hard to do but my company motivated me and so did my instructors (1st SSgt Slaughter, Colonel Minnick, SSgt Jenkins). This experience is something I would love to do again next year. Even if my company didn’t win first place but I truly made some great friends there. My favorite thing was the ranger course and the LRC, it was honestly an AMAZING experience. On the LRC working as a team really taught me better teamwork, I have always worked by myself and i barely knee teamwork and now I do. The Ranger Course is by far my favorite, it was difficult but it taught to keep pushing myself, i fell and hit my back but I kept going to teach myself to never give up. JCLC taught me so many things and I think because of JCLC I will be a great leader.

 

Dear best chief in this entire world,

My experience at jclc was amazing I showed up and thought I was just a regular cadet there but no I wasn't I came back home awarded by the best basic level cadet in my company and I honestly do think I deserved it because it's not about showing off , it's about standing out. Everyone was always complaining about how tired they were and how hot it was and I got to admit it was hot out there and I was tired cause I wasn't used to waking up at 4:30 am but I never complained because I knew this was a onetime thing and I signed up for it. The ranger courses and the 34 ft tower and everything else was fun and I'm glad I got to conquer my fears of heights, I'm not going to lie but I cried before coming down that wall lol. I liked everything we did even the food Other than that honestly I had so much fun and I'm glad I got the chance to make new friendships with people from other schools. But this wouldn't of happened if you wouldn't of chosen me so thank you chief !!!! You're the best !!!! and I'm sorry I left early I'll make sure I'll bring the duffle bag when I go to conditioning. Have a nice summer chief (:

Sincerely, Gabriela Rodriguez

Kaleb H. to Me

Reflection: My second experience at JCLC was even better as the last one. I've made new friends and seen some old ones that wanted to relive they're first year once more. I am very happy to have a second go at jclc 2016, this time I got to go on all the activities they had scheduled and i've also g More... Reflection: My second experience at JCLC was even better as the last one. I've made new friends and seen some old ones that wanted to relive their first year once more. I am very happy to have a second go at jclc 2016, this time I got to go on all the activities they had scheduled and I’ve also got to compete in a couple of competitions. This year I got the same instructors as last year in Bravo Company and they remember me which was good. I was able to share the way I lead from my school and the way others lead from theirs. I picked up multiple ways of leading and I learned some bad ways of leading, but that's why we all are there to help and correct each other as a team. My favorite part of jclc was the team building exercises which I took charge of and came up with some great ideas and ideas from others because "teamwork makes the dream work". Another favorite part of jclc is seeing all my friends from school lead other company's and see them during lunch as well. Seeing everyone at Osborne being creative and leading other made me so proud and gave me no doubt about what leaders should be in positions this year. Sir, I have a great feeling about this year's leadership, it'll be a good year for our jrotc program because we're all a big team !

 

Adrian G. to JCLC 2016 - OHS CADET LEADERSHIP CAMP

Adrian Garcia JCLC Reflection JCLC was an amazing new experience for me. From the moment we stepped onto the bus until the moment we all hugged goodbye, I was always left in awe at all that was happening and how it was in a way making me a better student, cadet, and citizen. I learned the More... Adrian Garcia JCLC Reflection JCLC was an amazing new experience for me. From the moment we stepped onto the bus until the moment we all hugged goodbye, I was always left in awe at all that was happening and how it was in a way making me a better student, cadet, and citizen. I learned the values of the military through the stories and teachings of real soldiers, rangers, and infantry men. It was an honor to have been selected among the hundreds of other cadets who also wanted to go. The experience has helped me further appreciate what our Army does and even allowed me to see it firsthand. I will definitely work hard this school year to try to go a second time so that I can serve as a guide to the next group that goes. Many memories were made during this amazing experience, but more importantly, many lessons were taught to me that I'm glad to say I'll be using from now on. These are just a few of them: When we got to the camp, we were sent to different buildings where we would be put with other people from other schools. I was sent to Alpha company. I quickly made myself known and created an ice breaker so that we all would know what we liked and looked forward to while at camp. Once everyone was together and the entire company was formed up we made use of the time to assign leaders as well as receive a taste of pushups in case we didn't listen or misbehaved. I liked the way in which the instructors demanded dedication and motivation because it helped me see that those two things will take you far no matter what the situation could be. We also kicked things off with a relay in which I was chosen to run in. The instructor told me to not disappoint him, and surely, I left him as well as everybody else stunned with my speed and the lead that I created for my team, which ended up winning first place in the event. Later that night, I was announced as the new company commander and was given instructions to prepare for the events that were to come the next morning. I would have never expected to become the company commander! I spent the night studying new cadences and commands that I might need to know or use. The next morning, we performed physical exercises and I marched the company the entire morning and afternoon boasting my newly learned cadences as loud as I could to motivate and energize the company. Unfortunately, I lost my voice quickly, but it didn't stop me from leading the company or from giving them inspirational messages. Whenever my first sergeant didn't know what to do, I always made sure to advise her as well as the squad leaders so that we were always in unison with what was going on. By the time I was released from my position, I had my head held high confident that I did a very good job and managed to inspire a sense of motivation and pride in the company from then on. As company commander, I learned to be more confident in myself, my ideas, and decisions despite what others would think of me. I look forward to continue to improve in this area and help others avoid it as well. Many group activities occurred throughout the course of JCLC, but the ones that stood out to me were the navigation course, where I learned to use a compass, map, and protractor to find coordinates on a map. I felt astounded that I was capable of doing something like that since it seemed really complicated at first. I led my group to our coordinates and despite being the last team to begin their walk, we returned right after the first group! Best of all, Alpha company was the first company to have all their cadets back. Another activity was the LRC's. The leadership reaction courses were designed to unite different cadets and have them work together for a common goal at each course. My team decided to not elect a leader so that it felt equal to everyone, and I believe that it worked out great for us. We completed most of the courses and I learned to be more open minded about other people's ideas and ways to work. During the highly anticipated Mount Vesty course, I was chosen as on of the cadets to compete for our official time. The course itself wasn't too hard, but it was intense and nonstop movement from the beginning. Unfortunately, my male partners didn't stick with the group for the course, so I was left behind helping the females complete it first. I was very upset because I believed that I could have finished first had I not stayed behind to help, but I quickly reacted and realized that I put my personal goals and desires behind me in order to help my team finish in the first place. The best part about it was that I did that without even thinking about it which made me feel really proud of myself for doing something like that. After Mount Vesty, I was congratulated by the females that I helped as well as other cadets for being a real team player, and I have to say that that feeling made me feel really appreciated and it totally boosted my confidence and self esteem. The most important lesson I learned was that as John Quincy Adams once said “If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more, you ARE a leader.” So many things happened at JCLC. I could honestly write a book describing every detail about what happened each day there. I witnessed a random group of teens unite as one to accomplish what we thought was virtually impossible. Alpha company went on to win the best company award and it was the best reward for our efforts and growth from the worst looking company the first day, to the loudest and most fired up company of all. I won't forget all the laughs, jokes, and even arguments that we had because after all, you can't see a rainbow without a little bit of rain. I'm very thankful to Chief Fagan for selecting me to be a part of this. Without a doubt, I'm starting to believe that I may actually have the characteristics needed to inspire, motivate, and lift others for the good of us all, just like a real leader.

 

Julio Langarica

JCLC Reflection

Jclc has been an outstanding experience. I learned a lot of things about leadership, teamwork, and even myself. On the first day of Jclc i thought it was going to be a horrible week. I did a lot of mistakes and i got yelled at alot but you learn from your mistakes and i wasn’t gonna let a couple of shouting ruin my experience for jclc. You had to wake up early in the morning and they wanted you to clean your room very well or else, but you would get use to doing that as the days went by.

In Jclc they had activities in which they test the cadet’s leadership, teamwork, and thinking skills. This was my favorite part of jclc because it was fun and i learned a lot of things about myself that will fortunately help me out in the future. I learned that with a little motivation anything is possible hence my accomplishment of climbing to the top of the rock climbing wall.

I also learned that even when i think i am being useless the smallest things i can do to help can make the biggest impact. Last but not least i learned that teamwork makes the dream work.

There were many great lessons and memories from jclc that i will never forget. I will miss jclc and i hope i can return to this amazing experience next year. I will use what i learn from jclc to help me in life and make me a better person. Jclc was truly an adventure i will never forget.

 


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page